Celebrating Local Sustainability

Join us as we continue the tradition of Coulee Partners for Sustainability in recognizing and celebrating organizations or individuals who have inspired sustainable action within our community.

2021 marks the 11th year for the Inspiring Sustainability Awards. That means 11 years of recognizing and celebrating organizations and individuals who have inspired sustainable action within our community.

How amazing is that?

Two winners will be announced by our Executive Board at our awards event on October 28th. Make sure to RSVP & Celebrate with us!

Oct 28, 6:30 PM
Join us as we announce the two 2021 award winners, celebrate our collective Drawdown Challenge impacts and hear from featured speaker, Erin Sikorsky.


2010 CPS Recognition

Tom Thompson - For his contribution to the 2009 Earth Fair.
Jenn & John Parsneau - For

2011 CPS Recognition
Dorothy Lenard and Jai Johnson - For bringing The Natural Step philosophy to the La Crosse city and county. The city and county of La Crosse were the first to adopt resolutions to become Eco-municipalities in Wisconsin thanks to their efforts.

2012 CPS Recognition
Barb & Don Frank  - Recognized for their many years of commitment and service to preserve and protect the land and that surrounds the La Crosse community.
Chris Schneider  - Recognized for his efforts to educate the community about hybrid technology and founder of La Crosse Green Drinks.

2013 CPS Recognition
Guy Wolf  - Recognized in the Midwest as a tireless community organizer, activist, environmentalist and educator.
Hank Koch  - La Crosse County Director of Solid Waste Department that oversaw the first publicly owned solid waste disposal system to join Wisconsin innovative Green Tier program.

2014 CPS Recognition
Lee Rasch - For leadership at Western Technical College
Marilyn Pedretti - For her commitment to a sustainable lifestyle
Vicki Miller - For work on the Earth Fair, CPS, Hillview Urban Ag.


2015 CPS Recognition

Todd Hoffman, Garden Coordinator at the Kane Street Community Garden

Kevin Fisk, LaxPrints - Solar powered building and business


2016 CPS Recognition

Chuck Lee - For La Crosse River Marsh Coalition, Mississippi Valley Conservancy, Biodiversity Task Force, CARS – Citizens Acting for Rail Safety

Josh & Mary Larson, owners of Full Circle Supply


2017 CPS Recognition

Alan Stankevitz - - Cordwood building & living a more self-sufficient lifestyle / web site devoted to bird photography and cinematography

CARS – Citizens Acting for Rail Safety - Grassroots organization that works with citizens and public officials to achieve a rail transportation that respects health, safety, and quality-of-life.

Grow La Crosse - For school gardens & summer classes programming development

2018 SI Recognition

YMCA Food Forest

Empire Screen Printing - For their innovation green printing technology with UV light

2019 SI Recognition

Superior Fresh - For an industry leading aquaponics facility that uses state of the art technology and ecologically sound water conservation practices to provide the freshest and most healthy leafy greens and fish year-round.  

Kahya Fox - For her strong involvement in the Renew program, leading the Neighbor’s day event, and this year partnered with the Marsh clean up to expand outreach to volunteers in cleaning up our community. Kahya is a driving force of volunteerism in the La Crosse area.

2020 SI Recognition

La Crosse Distilling Co. - For a significant investment in downtown La Crosse and commitment to locally sourced food for their restaurant and locally sourced supplies for the distillery operation. Not only is their farmer forward approach commendable but they also utilize geothermal energy to produce their “field to glass” spirits. The La Crosse Distilling Company was one of the first to find a way to pivot and step up during the early parts of the Covid-19 pandemic. During the early stages of the pandemic, they refocused production to provide hand item in short supply at the time and donated their product to citizens and over 140 organizations of the La Crosse region.

Jason Gilman - For thinking beyond the present in hopes of creating a better tomorrow for all. Jason worked from paper to inception by planning roads, buildings, neighborhoods and communities all through a lens of sustainability. He guided citizen-led plans for major transportation corridors, increased the amount and quality of affordable housing, improved the city’s floodplain program, championed La Crosse’s neighborhoods and helped to revitalize downtown La Crosse.